2 March, 19:00
Concert, Foyer

Spectral music

Subscrubscription 1
Book tickets
Share this:

Curator – Gleb Khokhlov

Georg Friedrich Haas – String Quartet No. 1
Horatiu Radulescu – “Before the Universe was Born,” String Quartet No. 5 

Spectral music is a phenomenon associated mainly with France and such composers as Gérard Grisey and Tristan Murail who were at the forefront of creating compositions based on a computer analysis of the sound spectrum. However, this phenomenon is much broader, as the A&C Quartet will demonstrate in programs offering the works of composers no less significant but much less performed in Russia: Georg Friedrich Haas and Horatiu Radulescu, and Giacinto Scelsi, whose music was a forerunner to the first “spectral” compositions.

The A&C String Quartet was created in 2016 at the Moscow State Conservatory. Initially, the group included musicians who were students of the Department of Historical and Contemporary Performing Art. The main task of the team was the performance of music of the 18th century in historically correct forms.

Currently, A&C specializes in performing and popularizing the works of recent quartet music. The ensemble's repertoire includes works by composers of the second half of the 20th and early 21st centuries, such as: Georg Friedrich Haas, Helmut Lachenmann, Giacinto Scelsi, Giulio Colangelo, Steve Reich, Osvaldo Golijov, Alexey Sysoev, Pavel Karmanov, Alexander Khubeyev and others.


Tickets: 500 rubles, subscription to three concerts 1,200 rubles